Chauntecleer Award

Aka, The Samuel Edward Konkin III Memorial Chauntecleer



Contact Info

Meetings Archive

Books & DVDs

Libertarian Links

Samuel E. Konkin III

Dallas E. Legan II

Brad Linaweaver

J. Neil Schulman

Chauntecleer Award




index sitemap advanced
search engine by freefind


The Chauntecleer was first awarded in 1995 to Chauntecleer Michael Greene, to honor him for his many years of inspired work as, among other things, facilitator of the Albert J. Nock and H. L. Mencken Fora. The award, created by Samuel Edward Konkin III, was intended as a one-time presentation.

Before accepting his award, Greene passed away on April 19, 1996. Gail Higgins might have given it to him before he died. She may now be in possession of it.

After SEK3 passed away (on February 23, 2004), the three remaining KHC founders resurrected the award -- while also renaming it in Sam's memory.

The Chauntecleer Award acknowledges "meritorious service in the Cause of Freedom and advancement of Agorism." The Chauntecleer (another name for rooster) is a fitting symbol to honor those whose work awakens a sleeping populace and introduces them to a new day full of the promise of freedom and prosperity through agorism.

The first resurrected award was presented in March 2006. It will continue to be awarded annually, in March, provided that the three members of the KHC's award committee agree unanimously on a recipient.


* 2013

On February 18, 2013, the KHC awarded the 2013 Samuel Edward Konkin III Memorial Chauntecleer to Howard Hinman.



* 2012

On March 29, 2012, the KHC awarded the 2012 Samuel Edward Konkin III Memorial Chauntecleer in memoriam to Chuck Hammill. Accepted by Charles P. Hammill.


* 2011

On March 20, 2011, the KHC awarded the 2011 Samuel Edward Konkin III Memorial Chauntecleer to Los Angeles Libertarian Party activist Bob Weber.


* 2010

In 2010, the KHC awarded the 2010 Samuel Edward Konkin III Memorial Chauntecleer to law professor and author Butler Shaffer.


* 2009

On March 16, 2009, the KHC awarded the 2009 Samuel Edward Konkin III Memorial Chauntecleer to J. Neil Schulman. Schulman has tirelessly advanced agorism for many years, especially through his highly regarded novels Alongside Night and The Rainbow Cadenza, two classics of libertarian literature. He has organized agorist conventions, contributed to SEK3's New Libertarian Magazine, and was the first speaker at the Karl Hess Club.

This same year, Schulman founded the Samuel Edward Konkin III Supper Club, in Parump, Nevada. It will be an honor to regard this new organization as our Sister club.


* 2008

No award was presented in 2008.


* 2007

On March 19, 2007, the KHC awarded the 2007 Samuel Edward Konkin III Memorial Chauntecleer to Professor Hans-Hermann Hoppe. Professor Hoppe is a highly regarded Austrian school economist, anarcho-capitalist philosopher, and professor at the University of Nevada, Las Vegas.


* 2006


On March 20, 2006, the KHC awarded the 2006 Samuel Edward Konkin III Memorial Chauntecleer to Wally Conger. Conger has advanced agorism through his highly regarded newsletter Out of Step, and related website and blog. Conger resides on California's central coast and was not able on short notice to attend the meeting to accept the award in person.